Let Them Eat Cake?

A few months ago I had learned about a so-called magical sweetener called Lakanto. It is advertised to have zero calories, zero glycemic impact, be good for baking, and, most importantly, not feed Candida.

Wow!

I was too skeptical to order it right away. But my curiosity got the best of me, and eventually I gave in. It would make my life less torturous, right? It definitely tastes good and works well in baked goods. Unfortunately, my body wasn’t in the best place when I tried it, so I couldn’t accurately assert whether or not its claims are true.

But a part of me doesn’t think the alternative sweeteners are the best idea, even if they don’t physically exacerbate one’s healing. Mentally, I found that I was brought back into the sugar-craving mindset. And being in the best of mental states is really what motivates you to stick to any sort of elimination diet in the long-term

I’m all for moderation and allowing oneself to have treat, but I’ve also  found I’m thriving when I don’t feel mired by desires for sugar; it’s an aggravating state of constant dissatisfaction. Wanting what is bad for me is an unhappiness that I just can’t be stuck in anymore.  But that’s just me.

Leave a Reply

