Soft, Sweet, Simple

I have a weakness for breakfast food: I love pancakes, waffles,  hash browns, and omelets. I remember feeling tortured by these foods when I first realized that I’d have to give up grains. I just wanted something soft and fluffy to bite into—damn you, gluten!  This was before I discovered coconut and almond flour, of course. I recently made some pretty photogenic coconut cinnamon pancakes:

 

They are simple to make. Here are the proportions I use:

  • 1 tablespoon of coconut flour with 1 egg and 1/2 tablespoon of coconut oil = 1 pancake
  • a pinch of baking soda for every two pancakes
  • 1 packet of Sweet Leaf stevia for every two pancakes (optional)
  • liberal amounts of cinnamon

Bob’s Red Mill also has good coconut flour. They definitely do not need stevia to taste good, but sometimes I like a bit of sweetness. Top them off with plenty of butter and remember to keep them small (no bigger than the size of a CD). The result is filling, delicious, grain-free pancakes that don’t feel like a rock in your stomach or an assault on your blood sugar. Enjoy!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Nice photography! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

